CDrama Reviews

In Blossom (currently watching)

It’s been a long time since I live-blogged a drama. This is because dramas in the last few months have not caught my attention in such a way that makes me want to do so.

Admittedly, this drama caught my attention because of Liu Xueyi, an actor who caught my attention in Blood of Youth, Love and Redemption, and Qing Luo. I’ve always known that he was more than just a pretty face, that he was a very talented actor and just inches away from breaking out into the big leagues.

I really think In Blossom could be the drama to do it.

If you have not watched In Blossom, do avoid the spoilerific Watch Log and head straight to the non-spoiler Final Review section instead.

And if you’re following this blog from Mastodon or Tumblr, do bookmark the In Blossom page and revisit it as the Mastodon post doesn’t automatically update.

Table of Contents

  1. The story
  2. Main characters
  3. Watch Log
    1. Episode 1 and 2
    2. Episode 4
    3. Episode 7
    4. Episode 8
    5. Episode 11
    6. Episodes 8 to 16
    7. Episodes 17 and 18
    8. Episode 21
    9. Episode 22
    10. Episode 24
    11. Episode 28
    12. Episode 29
    13. Episode 32
    14. The ending (spoilers)
  4. Final review
    1. What’s not great

The story

When the handsome, very eligible Pan Yue married Yang Caiwei, the city of Heyang was astounded. She was the last person anyone would expect to capture Pan Yue’s heart: She is scarred and works as a despised undertaker and apprentice coroner.

But then, tragedy strikes. Yang Caiwei dies on their wedding day mysteriously and Pan Yue becomes the main suspect.

But unbeknownst to everyone, Yang Caiwei has become Shangguan Zhi, the ingenue who traded faces with her so that she could marry Pan Yue instead.

Yang Caiwei believes that Pan Yue killed “her”. Determined to uncover his crime, she worms herself into his world, becoming his assistant.

Meanwhile, Pan Yue, who is now the magistrate of Heyang, suspects that she is responsible for his wife’s untimely death.

As the two try to solve the mysterious death of Pan Yue’s bride, they end up embroiled with the shady world of the Four Major Clans, and possibly a conspiracy involving the royal family.

Main characters

Pan Yue – Young, handsome, eligible, rich and beloved of royalty, Pan Yue is probably the most admired and eligible bachelor in the kingdom. But he only has eyes for Yang Caiwei, a scarred woman who was his dearest childhood friend. He has been searching for her for a decade and he has finally found her.

Yang Caiwei – Formerly from the nobility, Caiwei has fallen onto hard times after her father, a former Justice minister, falls from grace and her parents are murdered. She was working as a coroner and grave digger when Pan Yue finds hers.

Shangguan Zhi – The sister of Pan Yue’s good friend, she’s obsessed about her looks and Pan Yue, and 100% believes that he will marry her.

Bai Xiao Sheng – A street-smart hustler and Yang Caiwei’s best friend.

Zhuo Lan Jiang – A mysterious young vagabond who is Yang Caiwei’s good friend.

Watch Log

Episode 1 and 2

Not gonna lie, I was distracted by the fact that Zheng He Hui Zi, who played Yang Caiwei in episodes 1 and 2, won’t be around after because I love her performance here. I’m going to miss her a lot once Ju Jingyi enters the picture. I liked Zheng a lot as Tao Zi in Wonderland of Love and I hope she gets bigger roles in the future. I think she’s a very natural actress and talented.

Ju Jingyi is definitely very okay as a villain. She needs to do more of these roles!

And what can I say about Liu Xueyi? He’s hard carrying the show. I said to a friend that at this rate, he’s going to collapse from metaphorical exhaustion lol. He has a magnetic presence that I can’t quite define or explain. There was one shot of him appearing in silhouette at the door and I went 🤤

Episode 4

I was pretty surprised that the inevitable confrontation between Pan Yue and Shangguan Zhi aka Caiwei took place so quickly. By the way, I’m liking dak, gothic, moody Pan Yue so much. I want to say, “never change, Pan Yue”, but that won’t be fair, foisting such a miserable state of being to our dashing hero.

I definitely love that he literally wears his grief. The white streaks in his hair – what people assumed was a “vanity move” – was the result of terrible grief. And those gorgeous dark robes! It took me a while to realise that he was wearing the Chinese mourning colours of white, blue and black.

Episode 7

So we find out what happened to Pan Yue right after Yang Caiwei’s “death” and it isn’t pretty. Liu Xueyi is acting the heck out of Pan Yue’s deep grief. Can a person look hot when he’s so grief-stricken? Well, Liu Xueyi can totally pull it off.

Episode 8

I love how this show subverts the typical trope of “accidental kiss happens when they fall on each other”, only instead of the male lead falling onto his lady love it’s the opposite!

Episode 11

I’m now on episode 11. I’m pretty shocked that I’m watching so quickly – that’s usually a good sign that I really like the drama. I hope it doesn’t crash and burn like Yong’an Dream, which I had such high hopes for but eventually gave up midway because of the zero chemistry I sensed between the leads. JJY wasn’t as bad as I thought. I think all those comments made me “ready” for her performance lol. But ngl, I keep thinking, “If only…”

Liu Xueyi is 150% delivering here, and looks like I’m in for some fun times with his character lol.

Episodes 8 to 16

What I love about this drama so far:

  • The grieving widower trope – uhm, yeah, just irresistible to us females.
  • Liu Xueyi’s performance. Damn, he nails the “broken-hearted widower only lives for revenge” thing. And there’s something about the way he carries himself that is magnetic. The camera adores him in this show. Thanks, director! I’ve always known him as an impeccable actor and was pretty annoyed (for his sake) that he has been in supporting roles for so long. But I stumbled on this Twitter post where he said the supporting roles helped him to play protaganists today. (There’s a reel of the roles he had played since he was 16! I particularly dig the punk biker role with the grey hair. Have a look)
  • The emotional connection to the cases – the Lantern Festival serial killing case really hit me in the heart at the end. I couldn’t stop thinking about the story, the tragedy of it all! Now that’s how you write stories. Despite the technical superiority of Judge Dee’s Mystery – better mysteries, camerawork, acting, it didn’t give me the same “oh God I need the next episode” now feeling like In Blossom provokes.
  • The big emotional reveal we’re dying for – this keeps us watching episode after episode, wondering, “Will Pan Yue finally find out that his wife, Yang Cai Wei, is still alive and next to him? (Though technically since he didn’t really marry her but Shangguan Zhi, so are they really married?

Episodes 17 and 18

How to look cool in front of your lady love:

Step 1 – Spruce up

Pan Yue In Blossom

Step 2 – Declutter

Step 3 – Pour yourself some tea

Step 4 – Sip slowly

Step 5 – Smile like an idiot when she’s not looking

Results – 😅

Some people may think this is out of character for Pan Yue, but it is precisely because it is so out of character for him that makes this scene adorable. Liu Xueyi’s comedic timing and expressions was on point in this scene!

It is just so lovely to see the forlorn shadow hovering around him finally lifted now that He knows she’s alive and next to him.

Meanwhile, our second lead is busy ruining Pan Yue’s every single attempt to date Caiwei.

Episode 21

Finally, that episode we’ve been waiting for. Yang Caiwei knows that Pan Yue knows she’s not Shangguan Zhi!

That was a fine act by Liu Xueyi when Pan Yue was blind and crying for Yang Caiwei at the hillside. It was uncomfortable watching him so anguished 😢

Also, Yang Changwei finally knows that Pan Yue knows, and that kiss! (And the long lingering camera focuses on Liu Xueyi’s muscles 🤪 when he’s in the bath. Thanks, Mr Director, I truly appreciate it 😆)

Also, Pan Yue’s assistant (Ze) forever being that fly on the wall there to witness their big moments. 😆

There’s also a little sweet moment between Jiang and Bai Xiao Sheng. Kiss her damnit.

I wasn’t surprised by the reveal of who the mastermind in the wheelchair was. But now there’s another big bad in the capital. Hmm!

I know some people seem disappointed that the show is becoming less gothic and lighter in tone, and that Pan Yue is even getting quirkier, but I am loving the change. How about you?

Episode 22

I continue to love the camera work in this show. It is not exactly top-tier, but some scenes are beautifully framed, making the shot look like something straight out of a painting. Love this scene of Pan Yue walking down the corridor.

Not that it should surprise anyone, but Pan Yue, as you know, literally “wears” his grief. His hair turned white from sorrow, and after YCW’s “death”, he wore only blackwhite or occasionally dark blue, always in mourning. If he wore colours, it is always about work (going undercover).

However, his clothes are now brighter and colourful, reflecting his happiness as he is freed from the guilt that was weighing him down.

That emerald robe on him in this episode is a delight. 🤭

Episode 24

One thing I love about this show is how confident and forward the women are. They are not the typical, shy wilting flower types who are reluctant to express their desire for their men. I love the Uno reverse card they did in this scene, where Pan Yue is trying to be the smooth and seductive Cassanova, only to have Caiwei turn the tables on him, pin him to the shelves and and declaring what she thinks about his physical attributes instead 🤭

Episode 28

Me, after viewing this: OMG Pan Yue don’t you die on me

People on social media: OMG he is so pretty when he faints.

Admittedly, Pan Yue is gorgeous even when he faints.

Episode 29

I did it. I submitted to the power of Express episodes. Dang you, Youku, take my money. I have to admit they’re terribly ingenious with the whole thing. First, they charge you for advanced access; you can view an episode six hours ahead of time. And they did not announce the Express package ahead of time lest you decide to skip on the advanced episodes option to get the Express option. I bet you that advanced episode viewers do not get an automatic upgrade and have to pay more to get the express package.

Fortunately, I did not fall for the advanced episodes because it was just useless for me as they land during working hours and I don’t want to be distracted at work. But I did fall for express episodes, yes I did. But I’m really glad I got them because MyDramaList and Twitter was a minefield of spoilers, with an idiot, I mean, someone posting a damn video of a character’s death the moment the express episode was released. If anything, I often buy express packages to spare myself the pain of being spoiled.

But I shall go ahead and talk about this drama.

I think it’s credit to the writers that I’m driven enough to buy express episodes. The only drama I did this with was Mysterious Lotus Casebook. It’s not that the mysteries are especially well-written or compelling, but that I truly, truly care for the characters and want to know how they fare.

Episode 32

All I can say is that I breathed a sigh of relief. CDramas has had this unfortunate trend of going sideways in the last 10 episodes or so that I was holding my breath from episode 28 onwards.

My thoughts about the ending below, hidden in the expanded text.

The ending (spoilers)

Click to reveal my thoughts about the ending

I love it. Love, love, love it. Am very satisfied and happy with the ending.

But yes, I feel sad for A-Jiang eventhough I expected it because his tragic end was so heavily foreshadowed. Eventhough I wanted badly for him to live for Xiaosheng’s sakes, I knew somehow, that his tragic end was fiting for the story.

But this tragic though? It’s awful that he literally died a painful death. Writers, you’re too cruel!

Also, I didn’t think he was very smart at the way he went about seeking revenge. For a man who is supposedly clever enough to control a sect and get rid of a rival sect by his own lonesome, I expected more of him. But perhaps his competence was all an illusion because, after all, his dad was still alive and may be pulling strings in the background and mitigating his inexperience.

I wasn’t so sure where they were going with Pan Yue, however. He could meet the tragic end of his real-life counterpart, who was falsely accused of treason and executed along with his family. So, I was genuinely scared that the writers would decide to mirror history and our poor Pan Yue would meet the same end.

But fortunately he did survive, and had a rosy end with his lady love. To bad I didn’t feel a smidgen of chemistry between Liu Xueyi and Jiu Jingyi at this point, so what would’ve been the pinnacle best ending ever felt hollow for me.

About the supposed – “cliffhanger” ending. I’m not sure why people say it’s a cliffhanger. It’s more like a teaser, a possibility etc. It will not ruin the entire series for you nor will it render it “unfinished” in any way. The entire arc is needly wrapped up, so don’t worry, proceed it peace.

Just who is No.1? Well, who knows at this point. Despite its popularity, I highly doubt In Blossom will get a second season, so I have no idea why in the world the writers thought inserting this would be a good idea.

Final review

Sure, In Blossom was not perfect by any stretch of the imagination, but Pan Yue (or rather, Liu Xueyi) gave me so much joy. Liu Xueyi’s magnetic presence was the entire drama for me, seriously. Darling, please grace me with your abs and dark, embroidered hanfus once again. The world needs this community service.

With CDramas being the way they are, I really expected it to just go sideways sharply towards the end, but it didn’t! The storytelling, while not perfect and sometimes terribly convenient, held up till the very end. No fillers, no unnecessary side quests. No jealous rivals that bjorked everything up.

I would say this has bumped off Wonderland of Love as my favourite lite, cracktastic drama. Finally, a drama I can happily rewatch! I thought the story, while problematic at some bits were tightly woven throughout.There were no weird, unnecessary side quests, noble idiocy moments or side characters that fill up the space but don’t do anything.

What’s not great

Yes, they be downsides for this drama too.

The awful make-up
Dear god in heaven who did the makeup? Especially for Ju Jing Yi’s? Because those fake eyelashes are killing me inside. I don’t know if it’s the camerawork or the makeup but sometimes the makeup feels too obvious (even on the men) and it takes me out. Also, I swear, I was totally horrified to see tape on one actor’s face at one point. Hello, styling crew, were you asleep when putting on those wigs? Because I kept seeing the glue marks. I don’t usually notice these things, but the eff-ups are so glaring I could not ignore them.

But thumbs up for the wardrobe folks tho. Those robes on Zhuo Lan Jiang and Pan Yue are gorgeous. The women’s seem blander in comparison.

Ju Jingyi’s performance
In Blossom created an unexpected storm in the teacup: Ju Jing Yi’s acting.

Her performance just doesn’t match the skills of the first actress who played Yang Caiwe, Zheng He Hui Zi.

After going through the five stages of grief, knowing that I won’t see her again, I settled in with Jing Yi’s acting, which I eventually decided wasn’t terrible. Not good, but not terrible. A fine distinction. Though, I really, really miss Zheng He Hui Zi’s subtle physical mannerisms. The way she struts around, not caring if the world thinks she’s ugly.

Jing Yi moved around like a delicate flower. I wished she’d adopt Zheng’s more broad movements. I also missed the way Zheng projected this determined yet resigned air about her. Jing Yi’s Caiwei was too bubbly and perky. What I would do for that glimpse of sad determination and resignation of Caiwei’s again.

Again, I don’t think Jing Yi’s performance is terrible. Fun fact – I have a list of bad actors whose shows I refuse to watch because they’re just awful. But Jing Yi is not on that list. Yet.

But admittedly, this is my first drama with her, though I did watch a few episodes of Legend of Yunxi and barely remember her performance there. If it’s true that she is the same in every single drama, my patience would run very thin indeed.

The chemistry between our main couple, alas, is sadly lukewarm
Not at arctic levels like our couple in Yong’an Dream, but far from what I call “hot” or “phew we need to see them kiss more.”

A lot of people abandoned the drama due to the switcheroo, especially since they had a hard time transitioning from Zheng He Hui Zi’s better acting to Ju Jing Yi’s less nuanced one. I asked a friend – why did we continue when others didn’t? And, honestly, it’s down to a few things:

  1. Liu Xueyi
  2. Pan Yue’s character growth

I’ve noticed Liu Xueyi’s talent for a few years already, most notably in dramas such as Blood of Youth and Qing Luo. Not only is he an Adonis, he can act circles around the main leads of the dramas he’s always a second lead or a supporting actor. In Blossom is finally his chance to shine, and he delivers incredibly well, especially since the styling of his character is absolute perfection with those gorgeous embroidered robes, the white streaks of his hair and more.

Another reason why I continued watching In Blossom is because I’m not the sort to watch dramas nor is romance a primary motivation for me to watch a drama.

Meaning, I’m not the sort to ship anyone or even watch a drama purely for the romance. I’ve always been primarily attracted by character growth. And the more potential there is for that, the more I want to watch a show.

Watching Pan Yue change from confident, romantic hero to being a gothic, mourning, driven-by-vengeance widower was fascinating to watch. And towards the end, when Pan Yue regains the spark he had in the first two episodes, we are delighted for him.

Usually, Pan Yue’s romantic life would have been a wonderful enhancer to this journey, but due to Jing Yi being overshadowed by Zheng’s impactful performance, and due to Zheng and Liu Xueyi having such dynamite chemistry and Ju Jing Yi’s inability to surpass or even match that … well, darling, we have a problem.

So, Pan Yue’s peak happiest moment, when he finally reunites with his lady love, feels hollow.

But is this enough to forsake the entire show? Well, it really depends on your primary motivation or drive to watch the drama. Like I mentioned, I’m not the sort to ship anyone, not even the main couple. In fact, I tend to watch dramas where there’s little emphasis on romance.

So, if you’re the sort of person who’s interested in Pan Yue’s character growth or just want a simple, rip-roaring, wuxia-ish tale, In Blossom will be right for you. However, if you’re looking for a hot romance you can swoon over, you may have to be extremely forgiving of the acting performances or look elsewhere. Like Wonderland of Love, The Sword and the Brocade or of course, the doyen of sizzling chemistry, Dream of Splendor.

2 thoughts on “In Blossom (currently watching)

Leave a comment