CDrama Reviews

Wonderland of Love review

I only started watching Wonderland of Love because I became annoyed enough with the crowd-favourite Story Of Kunning Palace to abandon ship. I couldn’t stand the palace intrigue, the cattiness of the women (including our heroine), and the power struggles.

So, I switched gears to Wonderland Of Love, which felt more like my jam. It had the themes of brotherhood, adventure, love and loyalty.

And I was right. I binged 10 episodes in just two days. That’s a good sign that I really like the show.

If you have not watched Wonderland, be sure to avoid the spoilerific Watch Log and head straight to the non-spoiler Final Review section instead.

Table of contents

  1. The Story
  2. Main characters
  3. Watch log (beware of spoilers)
    1. Episode 1
    2. Episode 2
    3. Episode 3
    4. Episode 4
    5. Episode 5
    6. Episode 6
    7. Episode 7
    8. Episode 9
    9. Episode 10
    10. Episode 11
    11. Episode 12
    12. Episode 13
    13. Episode 14
    14. Episode 15
    15. Episode 16
    16. Episode 18
    17. Episode 19
    18. Episode 19
    19. Episode 21
    20. Episode 22
    21. Episode 25
    22. Episode 26
    23. Episode 27
    24. Episode 28
    25. Episode 29
    26. Episode 30
    27. Episode 31
    28. Episode 33
    29. Episode 34
    30. Episode 35 and 36
    31. Episode 37 and 38
    32. Episode 39
    33. Episode 40
  4. Final review
    1. What I liked
    2. What I didn’t like
    3. Final rating: 8/10

The Story

Li Ni may be the emperor’s grandson, but he has been exiled to the border as a soldier for years. However, the carefree life of a border general suits him just fine and he has no intention of living the life of a royal.

But one day, a rebellion led by the nefarious Sun Jing topples the kingdom. Li Ni is forced to lead the task to stomp it out.

During his campaigns against the rebels, he crosses swords and wits with ambitious Lieutenant He of the Cui army. As they try to outwit each other on the battlefield, they find themselves more attracted to each other.

Adapted from the novel “Le You Yuan” (乐游原) by Fei Wo Si Cun (匪我思存)

Main characters

Shiqi / Li Ni: The 17th grandson of the emperor and general of the Zhenxi army. I will probably call him Shiqi and Li Ni interchangeably, though I like his nickname. (Shiqi is “seventeen”).

Chui Lin / Ah-Ying: An ambitious commander of the Cui army and Li Ni’s love interest.

Old Bao: Loyal soldier of the Zhenxi army and a mentor of sorts to Shiqi who taught him the ropes to be a soldier.

Pei Yuan – General Pei’s son and Li Ni’s good friend and confidante.

Taozi – Ah-ying’s right-hand woman. She is also a healer.

Xie Chang’er / Ear – Zhenxi army’s most capable scout

Laolan Pass – it is mentioned so much that it might as well be a character. Shiqi’s “wonderland” and Zhenxi army’s base.

Watch log (beware of spoilers)

Read this part only after you’ve watched or while watching the Show. You’ve been warned!

Episode 1

Watching the 1st episode now and I already like the energy, the fun, and the main leads.

This feels like a more energetic, fun drama. I am a person who loves brotherhood dramas so I am enjoying this so much more than Story of Kunning Palace. I like how our couple met 😊

About the chemistry, I have to say I am more into the adventure stuff than romance so I don’t mind not feeling it as much. I like how kickass the female lead is.

Episode 2

It’s a real pity that not only was the show saddled with such a lame name, it was overshadowed by Kunning Palace.

I like the relationship between Ah Ying and Shiqi/Li Ning. They are equal and we don’t get uneven power dynamics.

Episode 3

The bandits are so cute! I can’t help but think that they should’ve made Xu Kai a little more scruffy-looking because he stands out so much among this lot.

Episode 4

Shiqi and A-Ying look like a very good married couple even if they are a pretend married couple.

Episode 5

Why are Shiqi and A-Ying always ending up in baths together? Not that I’m complaining.

Episode 6

The sword dance is lovely and Xu Kai did justice to it. But it’s probably not a good idea to give Li Ni a sword so near his enemies lol.

Episode 7

I love Bao’s method of negotiation.

And Ah Ying and Shiqi are jealous of each other’s “other halves”.

Miss Gu – couldn’t we do without a jealous female competitor for once? No? I guess we’re stuck with her then.

Episode 9

Shiqi being so close yet so far about Ah Ying’s secret identity LOL.

Episode 10

The love blossoming between A Ying and Shiqi is so sweet to watch. If they weren’t caught up in a war and in opposite camps, they would’ve been very typical young adults in love.

Consort Xiao is amazing. I thought of her as a conniving schemer at the start because she ditched the crown prince for Sun Jin who overthrew the emperor, but she really surprised me. She’s a woman who will use her feminine wiles to do the right thing. When she told the Governor that she would’ve willingly run away with him and leave the crown prince, she was absolutely convincing.

Episode 11

Go away, Miss Gu.

Episode 12

Oof Shiqi’s dad is the absolute worst. Shiqi doesn’t show it, but he must’ve been absolutely crushed, even if he expected it, to see his efforts to rescue his father dismissed and brushed aside like nothing and blamed instead for putting his life in danger.

Episode 13

I’m so over this Miss Gu, prime minister’s daughter. I don’t know what she’s plotting but I would’ve been very glad if she was excised from the story completely. This is the only complaint I have about Wonderland, using jealous people to come between our couple. Young Master for Ah Ying and Miss Gu for Shiqi. Double the “fun”. Gah.

Hey, Xuan Ji’s dad! Fancy seeing you here.

Episode 14

The second romantic plot – the one between Taozi, Ah-Ying’s right-hand woman and “Ear” (Xie Chang’er) is cute.

But damnit, I knew that the Young Master was up to no good.

Episode 15

Ah, the inevitable misunderstanding and breakup.

If Young Master did what he did so that Ah-Ying and Shiqi would break up, that’s like the lamest, most dishonourable thing a commander of an army could do. Because I cannot imagine the Cui army would join hands with Sun Jin this way.

Episode 16

Refreshing that a male lead is so honest with his feelings. Good on you, Shiqi, for not falling for Ah-Ying’s attempts to push you away. That said, Shiqi is so deep in the dog house that he’ll take a while to see sunlight.

Episode 18

I think trying to outwit each other is like a form of foreplay for Shiqi and Ah-Ying!

Episode 19

Shiqi’s first meeting with his future father-in-law went well.

He survived.

Had to LOL at General Cui’s reaction to Shiqi’s loud and eager marriage declaration to Ah-Ying though. Sure, despite being understanding of his daughter’s selection of a future hubby, and despite Shiqi being the worst choice at the moment, the man has limits.

On another note, Young Master, give it up already. Ah Ying is just not into you! If only he knew how much she grieved for him.

Episode 19

Consort Xiao is so badass. And gosh, I think she really did love Sun Jin. Which makes her an even bigger badass for her to do what she did.

Also, how in the world does Li Ni share the same DNA with the Emperor and his two useless sons? My theory is that all the good, noble qualities come from his mum. Like 90% of it. No, no, 99%.

Episode 21

Shiqi’s misadventures with his future father-in-law continue. The stories that grandpa is going to tell his grandkids about dad!

“My future son-in-law is willing to be whipped for my daughter. I approve.”

That said, Shiqi may be the last person General Cui wants A-Ying to marry, but he loves her enough to step aside and not stop them like so many historical Cdrama dads.

Episode 22

Fake Cui Lin’s turn to the dark side makes zero sense. Surely you have some loyalty to the man who saved and raised you like a real son? He has become a caricature, a one-note evil guy and stalker of Ah-Ying and I am absolutely hating his character arc. He’s not a believable villain at all.

Episode 25

Ah-Ying and Shiqi are on a “break” and they’re so not happy about it. Ah, Old Bao, the biggest shipper of Ah-Ying and Shiqi. His constant attempts to push Shiqi to mend fences with Ah Ying is hilarious.

Some people comment that Ah Ying was being entitled and demanding, but I think her displeasure is very understandable. We sometimes forget that despite her abilities, she’s still a young woman who sulks, and boy does she have epic sulks — I consider it a personality trait of hers.

Also, yes, it’s absolutely the best thing that Shiqi has turned his royal residence into a bachelor pad for his pals to drink wine and talk about chicks.

Despite his smarts, Ah-Ying is right about Shiqi’s choices. He only has one way out of this – to fight for the throne or die eventually because of his threacherous and incompetent family.

Episode 26

Bao asking when they can go back to Laolan Pass and Shiqi promising that they will once he “settles things” at the capital. This has all kinds of foreshadowing to it, and it is gonna hurt so hard in the future.

Episode 27

I really love the fun moments with the Zhenxi bros. These men are Shiqi’s real family. The men betting whether Shiqi will see Ah-Ying in that restaurant is hilarious. Damn it they are making me care about them so much.

Episode 28

LOL at Shiqi being absolutely furious that his brother is flirting with Ah-Ying. Or is it the other way round?

Episode 29

Ouch. Well, General Cui, remember what I said about not getting in between your daughter and Shiqi? That move really didn’t help matters at all. This break up was painful. How many “breaks” have this couple had, really? It’s hilarious lol.

Episode 30

The battle at the end of the episode. Brutal, absolutely freaking brutal. It was cinematic, bloody, and absolutely heartbreaking. No words. So I’ll leave you with a picture instead.

Wonderland of Love was fluffy all this while. Sure, there were battles, but we’re often fooled that all will turn out well because Shiqi is always one step ahead of everyone. Until this episode.

The absolute brutality of it! In just one episode this whole drama suddenly became an epic movie.

Episode 31

Because we all need therapy right now 💀

Xu Kai and Jintian acted the heck out of their scenes in this episode. Their grief over what happened is palpable, especially Li Ning’s.

Xu Kai was pretty good in this scene as he cried during his monologue. Under a less capable (and there are more than a few in cdrama-land), it would’ve been excruciating to watch, but I couldn’t tear my eyes away till the bitter end.

The last goodbye. Their drinking song became a dirge 😭

I’m pretty sure the 5 guys really did visit him in a dream to say goodbye. So sad, yet happy as well that they seemed happy. I bet their souls knew that they’ve done a good job and are ready to move on, and I’m glad the writers gave us this little scene to bid them a proper goodbye.

It is also sweet and also hits me with all the feels that Ah Ying was so afraid to lose Li Ning that she held on to him and refused to let him go to the battlefield, and how she chose to sleep in the same room over him to keep a watch over him.

How she sobbed and said how scared she was that he wouldn’t be able to hold on and her not knowing what to do if he couldn’t, and the grasshoppers that she made … omggg. I rarely cry when watching dramas, and I can tell you that I nearly did at that point.

I was so moved by this episode!

But this is hilarious, I actually watched episode 31 after watching episode 1 and some of episode 2. I accidentally saw the preview of episode 30, then couldn’t resist and watched the end scene of episode 30 and then some of 31. I honestly wished I had seen this show first and not Story of Kunning Palace.

Look, I like Kunning fine, but it doesn’t give me the emotional feels like Wonderland of Love, and I’ve only watched, what, 2.5 episodes?? That’s crazy.

I really hope more people watch this drama. Because while Kunning was interesting, it just doesn’t move me as much as Wonderland emotionally.

Episode 33

My hatred for the emperor continues -_-

Episode 34

Ok, call me masochistic but I appreciate that Li Ni’s injuries came back to haunt him. He recovered way too fast and this is a good way to remind us that he was a pin cushion a few episodes back and shouldn’t be running around like Superman.

Young Master Cui and Lady Gu is officially THE MOST ANNOYING characters in this show. Frankly, we don’t really need them because WOL has enough tension and drama from the political intrigue already, and their shenanigans are more annoying than anything. They cause unnecessary drama. The fake Cui Lin’s motivations is especially pathetic. Dude, the girl is not into you. Find a girl that is into you and move on, damn it. But nah, we need some drama! So … yeah, I’d say that the two of them are blemishes on an otherwise great plot.

Episode 35 and 36

I’m so not enjoying this latest “Ah Ying is mad at Shiqi” arc. As I said before, I appreciate that the writers keep this personality flaw of hers consistent – that she can throw massive sulks. Sometimes her sulks are really unjustified. A part of me wished that she had found out how Shiqi knelt in the rain for hours and literally collapsed because he wanted to save General Cui.

Episode 37 and 38

OMG I take it back this arc is even more unbearable than the “Ah Ying is mad at Shiqi” arc. But in a good way. Li Ni’s grief over what happened to Ah Ying is so profound. Again, people keep saying that Xu Kai can’t act, but his scream at episode 38 was heart-wrenching. And OMG Lady Gu don’t you have any smidgen of honour and self respect for yourself at all?

Also, the magical medicine man is like, deus ex machine much, but I am so glad that it helped bring General Cui back to his normal, “I want to beat up Li Ni” self.

Episode 39

Shiqi’s reaction to Ah Ying’s sudden resurrection is so well done. He probably felt like he was hallucinating and didn’t want to wake up. Who can blame him?

Episode 40

This drama had the rare, long happy ending. Not just a 5 second happy ending but an entire episode withmany happy endings.

I can write “The Emperor is an idiot” and it will be true for every episode 😐 Well except for the last episode when he suddenly gains a brain cell.

I was thinking, how unfair it is that Lady Gu was just sent away off screen to her punishment! How unsatisfying! I want suffering! Then I saw her on the streets, half-mad.

OK I am satisfied now lol.

Final review

What I liked

  • Great chemistry between Jing Tian and Xu Kai and I really enjoyed how evenly matched they were in terms of power dynamics, especially in the first few episodes.
  • The brotherhood story took a while to build up, but when it did, the impact of the angsty episodes really hit hard!
  • I like that every episode moved the story forward. There were hardly any filters.
  • Episode 30 and 31 really elevated the drama to fascinating heights. On the one hand, it was a very typical idol historical romance drama, and those episodes had Ripe Town vibes.
  • It has a wonderfully long happy ending. I’m a softie for those and we have precious few dramas that end so happily these days.

What I didn’t like

  • While Ah-Ying is written as a kickass female heroine, and she was in the first few episodes, she needed to be rescued way too much, which undermines her kickass status.
  • The pathetic villains with poor motivation. Young Master and Lady Gu are not that much of an antagonistic challenge to our leads and are mere annoyances. I found Sun Jing a more effective bad guy but when he left the stage, our new antogonists could not pick up the slack. It didn’t help that the acting was not fantastic either. I found our two Li princes a little better in the villain department but they were also not very bright villains and never felt like a real threat either.
  • Episodes 30 and 31 showed that the writers and production could elevate the drama to become something so much more, so it’s a pity they never went there completely or reached those heights again.
  • The political intrigue/palace drama bits were not, er, sophisticated. It was silly and simplistic at times and probably would not fly in the real world.
  • I really wished they had made Xu Kai and Jing Tian less pretty in the drama. For goodness sakes, at least tan Xu Kai a bit so that I could believe that he spent a decade in a deserted border outpost. In a sea of scruffy and dusty soldiers, Shiqi and Ah-Ying’s unreal beauty and polished looks stood out like a sore thumb. For the first few episodes, I couldn’t stop wondering if someone had slapped crazy filters on Xu Kai because he looked an anime character.
  • The drama had a “too clean” look. The sets were too polished and so obviously shot at Hengdian it took me out of the show sometimes. The streets were too clean, the soldiers’ uniform was looked too new, bright and shiny … I felt that this drama needed a liberal layer of dirt so that I could buy that it is real.

Seeing how long the “What I didn’t like” list is, you are probably wondering, oh noes, she doesn’t like this drama! Bu no, I think it was really good. It’s the kind of drama that you will rewatch on a moody day when you need cheering up.

I mean, it is certainly no Ripe Town or even Dream of Splendor, so you need to lower your expectations a lot when it comes to the drama.

However, it was very entertaining, fluffy, feel-good and romantic, and yet had surprising moments of depth that took me by surprise. It is a pity that it wasn’t sustained throughout its 40-episode run, but I enjoyed Show for what it was: Pure entertainment.

The pathetic villains, plot holes, convenient solutions definitely diminished what could’ve been a really, really good show. I laughed, teared up with this couple and it cheered me up immensely at a time when I needed it. 😍I had just had my first bout of COVID after avoiding it the entire pandemic and was dealing with adulting issues. I desperately wanted something happy to watch and Wonderland was it.

Whether you will enjoy Wonderland of Love, depends on how far you can ignore its flaws and go along with the flow. It is best for people who like the drama’s tropes: brotherhood and star-crossed lovers.

If you don’t you will probably not enjoy it at all 😆 I am a sucker for bromance and will watch any drama with that trope.

The romance was very secondary to me, and honestly, it annoyed me at some bits. Fortunately, Xu Kai and Jing Tian had great chemistry.

All in all, Wonderland helped me turn off my brain 😆 And I love it for that.

Final rating: 8/10

20 thoughts on “Wonderland of Love review

Leave a comment