KDrama Reviews

My Lovely Liar review

Mok Sol Hee can “hear” when people lie. She uses this ability to earn a pretty decent living, but this ability has left her jaded, especially when her mother is a con artist! However, one day she meets a super secretive but successful music producer named Kim Do Ha and he is the only person whom she cannot sense lying.

Kim Do Ha has a good reason to be super secretive about his identity. He was a murder suspect in the past, and just doesn’t want the attention. That murder was never solved, and there’s a shadow of guilt following him around as a result.

Verdict

Dropped. My ability to dislike dramas that everyone loves continues 😂

I tried. I really tried. I found the premise intriguing but the show just could not hold my attention. I do not feel any chemistry behind the leads. I find myself drifting off and doing other things while watching. There are endless scenes of people drinking, talking … It’s all a blur. I don’t think the male lead is bad in acting as some have said, I have seen worse, but he seems so bland and expressionless 🤷‍♀️

At first, I thought it was me. I have watched really intense wuxia Chinese dramas before watching this show and I thought my adrenaline-soaked brain wanted something more intense and angsty. Then, I realised My Lovely Liar just didn’t scratch my rom com itch like my eternal favourite, Another Oh Hae Young.

Pretty puzzled why so many people loved this, because there’s very little that makes this drama stand out for me. 🤷‍♀️

Perhaps I would have loved the vibe and pacing of My Lovely Liar at a time when there weren’t that many KDrama and CDrama choices.

Or perhaps I am just so used to the emotional highs of angsty wuxia dramas that the pace was far too languid and boring for me. As I watch the episodes, I inevitably find myself doing other things or not even paying attention.

Is it a show thing, or a Kdrama/CDrama thing? 🤔

I wanted to join the fun so bad as many of my online friends love it, but oh alas, the show is the equivalent of bland villa for me.

6 thoughts on “My Lovely Liar review

  1. @dramatea88.wordpress.com Glad to hear I’m not the only one that felt this series didn’t live up to the hype. #KDramas usually tend to rip a bit at all your emotions (happy and sad), this one just fell flat for me and was… well… boring. I didn’t finish it nor did I care to. I’m not sure what it was about it- maybe needed a different ML?

    Like

Leave a comment