KDrama Reviews

Mystic Pop Up Bar

With just a touch, Kang-Bae has the unfortunate ability to make people share their deepest, darkest and saddest woes. It has complicated his life massively to say the least. Then, one day, he bumps into Wol-Ju who discovers his ability. She became super interested in him because his abiilty would help her fulfill a long-held goal – to resolve the grudges of 100,000 souls. Getting the right person to pour out their woes to her have been challenging for Wol-Ju – she’s not exactly the touch-feely type and coaxing people to share their woes is not her favourite thing to do. Kang-Bae would allow her to cut to the chase and get the job done fast – especially now that her deadline is fast approaching.

If she’s not able to meet her 100k goal in time, she would have to end up in (gasp) hell.

Thoughts

This show is quirky fun, with an unexpected angsty plot that threads throughout the show. It deceptively begins on a heavy, sad note – making you think it’s a tragedy. But it quickly becomes a fun, quirky show almost immediately, making you wonder what that initial darkness was all about. No worries, however, we will revisit Wol-Ju’s tragic past and it will all come to a very satisfying conclusion at the end of the show.

I watched this show during the lockdowns. I was really bored during COVID and Show felt light and funny enough, so I decided to try it.

Initially, I was really reluctant because I was sure I would be bored. When it first came out I was influenced by a review that said that the show didn’t offer anything exciting, and that I assumed it was going to be tepid.

In the end, it turned out to be a pleasant surprise. I loved Wol-Ju. I totally didn’t recognise Hwang Jung-Eum who played her, at first. I often found her a little too screechy for my liking, but she totally embodied Wol-Jul here. Her shrieky ways are perfect for hot-tempered bar madam Wol-Ju, and her comedic timing made it all the better.

What I didn’t like

That it’s so short! The drama is only 12 episodes long which was unusual. I would have loved to see more of our trio, especially after all the secret histories are revealed in the last episode. Times like these I wished we were treated to the long-drawn-out endings of Tale of the Nine Tailed and Flower of Evil.

Thoughts about the ending

So satisfying!

Rewatchability?

Very – the drama/grudge of the week episodes are all memorable fun in their own way.

5 thoughts on “Mystic Pop Up Bar

Leave a comment